Alpha Phi Foundation Announces 2024-2026 Board of Directors

by Katie Gates in Press Release

Alpha Phi Foundation is honored to announce the newest members and officers of the Board of Directors.

Congratulations to Sheryl Barden (Delta Tau – LSU & Gamma Rho – Penn State), Dara Goldsmith (Epsilon Upsilon – CSU Northridge), Jennifer Johnston (Zeta Gamma – Santa Clara), and Jackee Schools (Eta Lambda – George Mason) on their appointment to the 2024 – 2026 Board of Directors.


Sheryl Barden (Delta Tau – LSU & Gamma Rho – Penn State) has served as the President & CEO of Aviation Personnel International since 2001. Sheryl has also served in multiple nonprofit leadership roles including serving as President of the International Women’s Forum of Northern California, Chair and member of the Board of Directors of the Advisory Council for National Business Aviation Association, and various fundraising roles for the Junior League of San Francisco.

Dara Goldsmith (Epsilon Upsilon – CSU Northridge) is an attorney who has focused her legal endeavors in the areas of Estate and Business Planning/Litigation for more than 30 years. She is licensed to practice law in Nevada, California, Arizona, and Hawaii. Dara served on the Boards of Directors and was the Former Chairperson of the Nevada Law Foundation, Nevada Community Foundation, and Clark County Bar Association. She also served on the Board of Governors of the State Bar of Nevada for 8 years. Currently Dara serves as Pro Bono Counsel to the Board of Directors of Southern Nevada Senior Law Program.

Jennifer Johnston (Zeta Gamma – Santa Clara) is Senior Vice President and Director of Municipal Bond Research at Franklin Templeton, with her career beginning there more than 30 years ago. Jennifer has served as President of the Junior League of San Francisco, compiling 27 years of nonprofit fundraising and leadership experience within the organization. Jennifer has also been on the Board of Directors for the College of Arts & Sciences Leadership at Santa Clara University for the past eight years, including one year as Board Chair.

Jackee Schools (Eta Lambda – George Mason) serves as the Executive Director of the Bureau of Diplomatic Security with the US Department of State. Jackee also served as both the IEB President of Alpha Phi and an ex-officio member of the Alpha Phi Foundation Board of Directors from 2019 – 2022 and has held many different leadership roles within Alpha Phi over the past two decades. Jackee is currently a member of the Foundation Awards Advisory Group.

“I am so thrilled to bring such an incredible group of Alpha Phis to the Foundation Board this year. The wealth of knowledge and combined years of professional and volunteer experience between these women is immeasurable. To have both the quantity and quality of interest in joining the Board this year truly speaks to the level of interest in our cause and promise of our potential. I commend Coree and the Nominations Committee on an excellent slating process and thank all the nominees for their commitment to our mission.”

Rebecca Andrew Zanatta (Beta Rho—Washington State), Board Chair

Jenny Concepción Hansen (Beta Pi – USC), Board Vice Chair, and Coree Smith (Epsilon Theta – Northern Iowa), Board Secretary, will be retiring from the Board at the end of their term. Alpha Phi Foundation expresses its unending gratitude for their leadership and many contributions they have provided in their years of service.


New officers and board members will be installed at Alpha Phi’s 74th Biennial Convention in Palm Springs, California.

Please join us in congratulating the entire 2024 – 2026 Alpha Phi Foundation Board of Directors, an outstanding group of nonprofit leaders who collectively bring outstanding professional and financial management expertise, Alpha Phi volunteer experience, and passion for the Foundation’s mission to their work:

Rebecca Andrew Zanatta (Beta Rho—Washington State), Chair
Janelle Del Carlo (Beta Delta—UCLA), Vice Chair for Development
Jackee Schools (Eta Lambda—George Mason), Vice Chair for Funding Priorities
Claire Costin (Omega—Texas), Treasurer
Shana Goss Smith (Chi—Montana), Secretary
Barbara Tingley (Beta Pi—USC), Assistant Treasurer
Janis Coughlin-Piester (Theta Kappa—Rochester), Assistant Secretary
Sheryl Barden (Delta Tau—LSU and Gamma Rho—Penn State)
Dara Goldsmith (Epsilon Upsilon—CSU Northridge)
Jennifer Johnston (Zeta Gamma—Santa Clara)
Susan McNeice (Epsilon Nu—Delaware)

We would like to thank the members of our Nominations Commission for bringing this distinguished group of leaders to the Foundation.

Coree Smith (Epsilon Theta – Northern Iowa), Chair
Jenny Concepción Hansen (Beta Pi – USC)
Susan McNeice (Epsilon Nu – Delaware)
Susan Bevan (Sigma – Washington)
Susan Zabriskie (Theta – Michigan)

  • Share this story!