Alpha Phi Foundation Announces the Incoming 2022-2024 Board of Directors

by Katie Gates in Press Release

Alpha Phi Foundation is honored to announce the newest members and officers of the Board of Directors.

Congratulations to Barbara Tingley (Beta Pi—USC) and Janis Coughlin-Piester (Theta Kappa—Rochester) on their appointment to the 2022-2024 Board of Directors. 

Barbara Tingley (Beta Pi—USC) retired after a successful, 25+ year career as a SVP, Wealth Management executive. She brings 6 years of experience on the Fraternity’s Finance and Audit Standing Committee (FSC) and over 30 years’ experience serving on the Board of Trustees/Directors for two arts organizations, an educational foundation, and a United Way agency. 

Janis Coughlin-Piester (Theta Kappa—Rochester) is a member of the United States Senior Executive Service with more than 23 years in the government leading business operations for various large and small Federal agencies. Janis brings years of volunteer experience in Alpha Phi at the local through International levels and a wealth of knowledge in leadership, management, and financial operations. She most recently served as an Ambassador for the Foundation’s Leading with Heart Campaign.

“I am so excited to have Janis and Barbara join the Alpha Phi Foundation Board. Janis and Barbara bring years of Alpha Phi experience to the Alpha Phi Foundation. Both have served in volunteer roles for Alpha Phi International Fraternity and Alpha Phi Foundation. Janis will bring professional skills in budget policy, education, and leadership. Barbara, will bring professional skills in finance, board service, and volunteer management.”

Rebecca Andrew Zanatta (Beta Rho—Washington State), Incoming 2022-2024 Board Chair 

Mary Beth Cooleen Tully (Epsilon PsiLehigh), Board Chair and Gretchen Wilson Alarcon (KappaStanford) will be retiring from the Board at the end of their term. Alpha Phi Foundation expresses its unending gratitude for their leadership and many contributions they have provided in their years of service. Both women embody what it means to be an Alpha Phi and to lead with heart.  

New officers and board members will be installed at Alpha Phi’s 73rd Biennial Convention in Scottsdale, AZ celebrating the 150th anniversary of Alpha Phi and the conclusion of Leading With Heart. 

Zanatta, who joined the Alpha Phi Foundation Board in 2018, succeeds Tully, who has served as Chair since 2017 and as board member since 2012.  

“I am confident that Becca’s strong leadership, vision, and knowledge, as well as her passion for Alpha Phi, will continue to be a tremendous asset to the Foundation,” Mary Beth continued. “I congratulate all the women of the incoming 2022-2024 board and deeply appreciate the outstanding women who served beside me as volunteers and successfully embraced an ambitious future for the Foundation and Alpha Phi.”   

Please join us in congratulating the following group of women who will serve on the 2022-2024 Alpha Phi Foundation Board of Directors: 

Rebecca Andrew Zanatta (Beta RhoWashington State), Chair  

Jenny Concepción Hansen (Beta PiUSC), Vice Chair   

Claire Costin (OmegaTexas), Treasurer  

Coree Smith (Epsilon ThetaNorthern Iowa), Secretary  

Janelle Del Carlo (Beta DeltaUCLA)  

 Susan McNeice (Epsilon NuDelaware)  

 Janis Coughlin-Piester (Theta KappaRochester)   

Shana Goss Smith (ChiMontana) 

Barbara Tingley (Beta PiUSC)     

We would like to thank the members of our Nominations Committee for bringing this distinguished group of leaders to the Foundation. 

Gretchen Wilson Alarcon (KappaStanford)

Janelle Del Carlo (Beta DeltaUCLA)

Judy Ethell (Zeta AlphaEastern Illinois)

Mary Beth Cooleen Tully, Ex-officio (Epsilon PsiLehigh)

Alin Wall (Beta DeltaUCLA)

  • Share this story!